On Intel’s new 7th-generation core processors

Reading Time: 3 minutes

4GH- Intel New Processor Class

Intel has recently unveiled its ”7th-generation” core processors, with the promise of improved performance.


(Credit: Intel Corporation)

A new 7th generation processor die is pictured to the left.

The new processors have new numbered codes to identify them as 7th generation, but, these codes also mix the “Core m” name in the with the “Core i” branding. “Core i” processors have always been powerful processors for high-end laptops and “Core m” processor are typically used in in smaller and less-powerful devices. However, processors which were formally called the m5 and m7 and now listed under the i5 and i7 lines.

Intel stated on their website that the renaming decision is intended to make it simpler for consumers to select a processor – but we think the naming convention will just befuddle our customers. Consumers can still identify the ‘Core m’ chips in the ‘Core i” range by looking out for a ‘Y’ in the number.

Here is an example for the uninitiated: “Core i5-7Y54” is a former “m” chip, but the original “Core i” line will continue with model codes such as “i5-7200U”.

New product class now known as“Kaby Lake“:

“Kaby Lake” is the code name for Intel’s 7th generation Core processors. It is a relatively a minor upgrade over 6th-gen “Skylake” release, yet it is still an significant improvement which makes 2017’s pc and laptop market ever more interesting.

Kaby Lake is a minor upgrade which means there are really no major structural changes to overall design and what the processor capable of. Previously, each generation saw a reduction in process size, smaller and lower power consumption and a more powerful architecture.